Logo Wiener Hofmusikkapelle, Seit 1498



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Cancelled

"Organ solo - Mass"

Vienna Boys' Choir, Choir of the Wiener Staatsoper, Choralschola of the Wiener Hofburgkapelle, Members of the Wiener Philharmoniker, Jordi Casals, Wolfgang Kogert

Missa in C, KV 259

It remains uncertain when exactly Mozart composed the mass in C-major KV 259 (also called “organsolo” mass due to the organ solo part in the Benedictus). Most likely it was written between December 1775 and October 1776. It is also not clear, when and where the mass was performed for the first time – historical sources only confirm the performance of a slightly different version during an official ceremony at the Dome in Salzburg on May 17, 1778. This missa in C, which was originally orchestrated for 2 violins, cello, bass, organ, 3 trombones, 2 trumpets and kettledrum, is one of Mozart’s shortest masses. However, it also displays a highly festive character – a trait that Mozart emphasized by adding parts for 2 oboes in a later version.

Conductor: Jordi Casals
Organist: Wolfgang Kogert
Choir: Wiener Sängerknaben, Choir of the Wiener Staatsoper and Choralschola of the Wiener Hofburgkapelle
Orchestra: Members of the Wiener Philharmoniker


Ticket reservation at office@hofmusikkapelle.gv.at

Online ticket sale through Culturall:

Buy tickets online (Culturall)

Members of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra in Preparation for the mass
[Translate to English:]