Logo Wiener Hofmusikkapelle, Seit 1498



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Missa brevis, B-flat major

Vienna Boys' Choir, Choir of the Wiener Staatsoper, Choralschola of the Wiener Hofburgkapelle, Wiener Philharmoniker, Martin Schebesta, Wolfgang Kogert

Missa brevis, B-flat major, KV 275

Mozart composed the mass in B major KV 275 in summer or autumn 1777. It was the last mass he wrote for Archbishop Colloredo before leaving Salzburg for Vienna, where he wanted to establish himself as an independent composer. The mass was most likely performed for the first time at St. Peter’s church in Salzburg in December 1777. The instrumentation of this short mass includes only 2 violins, cello, bass and organ. The concise Kyrie is opened by a soprano solo, and then alternates between solo and tutti parts. The Gloria is characterized by dense chromatic movements, while the Sanctus combines descants with a playful attitude. The Agnus Dei is the longest section. Its dramatic character and enigmatic harmonies anticipate the work of Franz Schubert. Written in the form of a rondo which moves from B major to g minor, the mass thus closes not in a jubilant but rather in a subtle and quiet disposition.
Translation: Nora Tunkel

Conductor: Martin Schebesta
Organist: Wolfgang Kogert
Choir: Vienna Boys' Choir, Choir of the Wiener Staatsoper and Choralschola of the Wiener Hofburgkapelle 
Orchestra: Members of the Wiener Philharmoniker


Ticket reservation at office@hofmusikkapelle.gv.at

Online ticket sale through Culturall: 

Buy tickets online (Culturall)