Logo Wiener Hofmusikkapelle, Seit 1498



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Organ solo mass

Vienna Boys Choir, Vienna State Opera men's choir, Choralschola of the Imperial Court Chapel, Members of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, NN , Robert Kovács

Missa in C, KV 259, „Orgelsolo-Messe“

It remains uncertain when exactly Mozart composed the mass in C-major KV 259 (also called “organsolo” mass due to the organ solo part in the Benedictus). Most likely it was written between December 1775 and October 1776. It is also not clear, when and where the mass was performed for the first time – historical sources only confirm the performance of a slightly different version during an official ceremony at the Dome in Salzburg on May 17, 1778. This missa in C, which was originally orchestrated for 2 violins, cello, bass, organ, 3 trombones, 2 trumpets and kettledrum, is one of Mozart’s shortest masses. However, it also displays a highly festive character – a trait that Mozart emphasized by adding parts for 2 oboes in a later version.

Translation: Nora Tunkel

Conductor: NN
Organist: Robert Kovács
Choir: Vienna Boys Choir, Vienna State Opera men's choir and Choralschola of the Imperial Court Chapel 
Orchestra: Members of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra


Ticket reservation at  office@hofmusikkapelle.gv.at

Online ticket sale through Culturall: 

Buy tickets online (Culturall)